How to change your default visibility for new tasks and events

This article is part of the Security & Permissions Guide

When your account is set to Simple Permissions, and you create a new task or event, you can set permissions to make the record public or private.

Public visibility gives your other users access to the item. Private visibility limits access to yourself, administrators, and the person the task is assigned to.

The Default Visibility option won't change items you've already created, but it does set the option to your selected default when creating a new task or event. Users can still change it when editing the record.

These settings will not appear if your account is set to Advanced Permissions.

To set your defaults:

  1. Go to User Settings > User Settings.
    Default_visibility.jpg
  2. Scroll down to Task and Calendar Settings.
  3. Click the boxes next to Makes my tasks visible... and Makes my events visible... to change the default setting when you create new tasks and events.
  4. Click Save.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Top