Ability to lock entries to prevent editing/deleting by users

Can you please add a feature where it will allow the admins to lock entries to prevent them from being edited/deleted by users?

After a sale is complete, we want the data to be visible to the users but we do not want users to have the ability to make changes to the entries once it's passed the sales stage and is in the admin stage. We can't just change the visibility, because the users need to be able to see the data as it provides them with important information that they need to keep track of their performance and to develop new leads and sales. We've lost data accuracy due to people changing and deleting important entries by mistake or thinking it would only delete it for them. 

Data accuracy is very crucial for any business and being able to lock entries will really go a long way to ensure that data reliability is achieved and maintained.

Thank you!

3

Comments

14 comments
  • Thanks for your detailed feedback. We do understand the need and have added this to our roadmap. You can vote for it here!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Nora,

    How do you unlock a opurtunity I deleted it but it still appears in my lead list

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • @Carl- Can you provide me a screenshot of the Opportunity you're referring to?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Nora,

    As can be seen by below the file just doesnt delete no matter what.

     

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • @Carl- I show you have changed the status to closed for this Lead record. Please go to the record > click edit > scroll down to the permissions > you most likely have permissions for "Creator Only" > change those permissions to Visible to Everyone.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Nora,

    Thanks for great support. I did as you said (see below) and selected delete and it still wont go away. Its still there. Any other ideas??

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • @Carl- Would you allow me to access your account to troubleshoot and see if I can delete the record?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Yes I give you full permission to access my account to solve this issue. If you need anything else form me just message me or email me.

    Thanks

    Carl

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Carl! I apologize for the misunderstanding. I show your Lead has been converted already. A lead can only be deleted if it has not been converted.

    Insightly designed the Leads this way in order to avoid losing information. You can vote for the ability to deleted converted Leads here.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Nora,

    Okay I understand your point BUT the fact is I did delete the converted lead as you can see yet its still appears in lead list. This is obviously a design flaw that needs fixing. If what you say is true then I should not have been able to delete the converted lead.

    In short can this lead be removed or is it stuck in my list forever????

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Carl,

    Unfortunately, the Lead can't be removed the record will remain there. I apologize for the inconvenience.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Okay thanks for trying anyway. I suggests you tell your admin that this is a design flaw and needs to be fixed.

    Thanks

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Please can we block leads in some way from being able to be deleted even if they are not converted. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Paul:

    Read-only permission  is something that we are looking into to be added in the future but is not currently available. You do have the option to control viewing permissions globally or on a per record basis.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.