Bug in custom filter

I have been using the custom filter quite a lot and it is good. However it appears to have completely broken after we did some updating of contact information via the API.  Best I can tell updates that happened via the API are not picked up by the filter.

One example is that we added a check box field indicating that a contact is a subscriber to our newsletter.  When I do a custom filter ("Custom Field: Newsletteris checked 'True'") I get two contacts.  These two contacts were manually edited through the UI.

However there are almost 500 contacts that we updated with the API.  When I go to any of thir pages you can see that the check box is checked.  Also if I download the information via the api you can see the custom field is set correctly.  However they are not showing up in the filter.

This is happening with other fields too.

0

Comments

11 comments
  • Official comment

    Nigel,

    Are you using version 2.2 of the API? Version 2.1 does not support the newer custom field types, so I would first double check that you are using v2.2. See https://api.insight.ly/v2.2/Help for details and documentation. Thanks.

    Brian

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Nigel!

    I'm going to have one of our developers take a look at this and help you out. 

    Thank you for your patience!

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I haven't herd anything further, this is becoming an issue for us because we can't do filtering.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Yes I am using version 2.2.  The strange thing is that when I look at the contacts page I can see the checkbox value fine.  But then if I do a custom filter on that checkbox value they don;t come up.  The ones who come up are the ones we checked through the UI.  It appears to be the custom filter that has the issue.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi

    This issue is still not resolved.  As per Nigel's comment a month ago we are using version 2.2. 

    Can Insightly please investigate?  It is becoming a really big issue for us.

    Thanks
    Shaun

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Shaun:

    Our main API developer is away on a family emergency but is aware that this needs to be investigated further. We will keep you updated right here once we have more.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Lyla

    Thanks for your response. While it is unfortunate that your main API developer is on a family emergency, this issue was raised with Insightly late last year.

    As an organisation we are paying quite a lot of money for the Insightly service, which on the whole meets our needs.  The requirement to be able to filter the custom field that Nigel has outlined here (and recently via the 'submit a request') is a real biggie for us and one that we want resolved.  If this can not be done we would either look to Insightly to provide some sort of compensation or, in an extreme, re-evaluate Insightly's value proposition to us.

    Cheers

    Shaun

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Shaun,

    We looked at the v2.2 API code, and it appears that what is happening is true/false custom field values are being saved differently than what the web app is expecting. We've identified the cause, and are working on a fix. Thanks for your patience, and for using Insightly.

    Brian McConnell

    Insightly Engineering Team

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Shaun,

    Thanks for your patience. This issue has been resolved, and we should have an update to the API in production on Monday. If you have any questions, please let me know.

    Thanks,

    Brian McConnell

    Insightly Engineering Team

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Brian,

    Has the update to the API been put into production as you outlined would occur on Monday? I ask as we are stull having the custom filtering issue.

    I look forward to hearing from you

    Shaun

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Shaun,

    This fix should have been pushed to production yesterday, although there appears to be an issue. We're investigating this further and should get this resolved shortly. Thanks for your patience.

    Brian McConnell

    Insightly Engineering Team

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.