Creating and Managing Queues

About

Queues are used to organize and allocate records amongst agents who share workloads. 

In this Article

How do Queues Work?

Queues are created by System Administrators within Insightly Service and used to assign records to a group of users. A user who has been assigned to a queue can assume ownership of records in that queue and perform necessary work on those records; users can take ownership of any record in a queue that they are assigned to. Queues are accessed by navigating to the Tickets, Knowledge, or Task objects and utilizing the list view drop-down; default queues created by Insightly as well as custom queues can be accessed via this drop-down. 

Tickets and Queues

By default, tickets will be added to either the New Tickets queue or the Spam queue (if automation is in place for spam); these queues are created automatically by Insightly and cannot be deleted. System Administrators can configure settings in System Settings > Feature Settings > Email Blocklists to automatically assign incoming tickets received by a specified support email address to a specific queue - by default, new tickets will be marked as New and can be located in the New Tickets queue until they are assigned to a user or a different queue. System Administrators can create automations that will automatically assign tickets to a queue if specific criteria has been met, these automations can be created via System Settings > Automation > Automation.

  • Tickets received from domains that have been blocklisted by System Administrators via System Settings > Feature Settings > Email Blocklists are automatically assigned to the Spam queue. The Spam queue automatically deletes tickets that have been in the Spam queue for 14 days - this is default functionality and cannot be adjusted. 

Creating Queues

  1. Navigate to System Settings > Users > Queue List. Existing default and custom queues will be displayed in the list view; to create a new queue, click Add New Queue. 
    1. Enter the queue details; the queue name must be unique e.g. cannot match the name of an existing queue. The name of a queue can be edited after creation although the Associated Object field cannot be edited after the queue creation process is complete.   
      1. If members of the queue should receive an email notification each time a new record is assigned to the queue, enable the Email Queue Members checkbox. For this notification functionality to work, the email template Ticket Assigned to Queue must be active otherwise the email notification will not be sent. 
    2. Assign users to the queue by selecting them from the list of users and clicking the Add button to migrate them to the Selected Queue Members list.
      1. Assignment of members can occur at anytime after queue creation and is not required during the initial creation process
    3. Once queue details have been completed and members have been added as applicable, click Save Queue. The new queue will now be displayed in the queue list view as well as the list view selector of the object that the queue is associated with. 

Managing Queues

Editing Queue Details and Members

When editing queues, the following edits can be made:

  • Insightly Default Queues: For the default New Tickets and Spam queues, the detail fields Name and Associated Object cannot be edited although, the Email Queue Members checkbox can be enabled/disabled and members can be added and/or removed from these queues as applicable. 
    • These queues cannot be deleted. 
  • Custom Queues: For custom queues, the detail field Associated Object cannot be edited although all other fields and checkboxes can be edited and members can be added and/or removed from these queues as applicable. 
    • These queues can be deleted as applicable by clicking the three dot menu for the queue and selecting Delete Queue. 
  1. To edit queues navigate to System Settings > Users > Queue List. Locate the queue that requires edits and either click the queue name or click the three dot menu for the queue and select Edit Queue
    1. Based on the queue type (default vs. custom) edits can be made as applicable and members can either be added or removed. 
    2. Once all edits have been made, click Save Queue to implement the edits. 

Assigning a Single Record to a Queue or User

Queues act as the record owner for all records within the queue until the record is assigned to an agent either manually or via automation created by System Administrators. 

  1. To add a record to a queue, navigate to the record and click the Actions button in the upper right. From the available options, select Change Record Owner
    1. Via the Change Record Owner pop-up, the following can be chosen based on applicability:
      • Queues: From the drop-down, a new queue for the record can be chosen.
      • Users: From the drop-down, a new user for the record can be chosen. Assigning the record to a specific user removes the ticket from its current queue. For example, if a ticket is in the New Tickets queue and it is then assigned to a specific user, the ticket would then be removed from the New Tickets queue and would be visible in the user's My Tickets list view in the Tickets object.
    2. When the applicable queue or user has been selected, click Change Owner to complete the process.

Bulk Assigning Records to a Queue or User

  1. To bulk edit records, select all applicable records from the list view and click the Change Record Owner button from the toolbar above the list view. 
    1. Via the Change Record Owner pop-up, the following can be chosen based on applicability:
      • Queues: From the drop-down, a new queue for the records can be chosen.
      • Users: From the drop-down, a new user for the records can be chosen. Assigning the records to a specific user removes the records from their current queue. For example, if tickets are in the New Tickets queue and are then assigned to a specific user, the tickets would then be removed from the New Tickets queue and would be visible in the user's My Tickets list view in the Tickets object.
    2. When the applicable queue or user has been selected, click Change Owner to complete the process.

Configuring Queue Notifications 

  1. To configure queue notifications, navigate to User Settings > Notifications > Queue Records
    1. Enable checkboxes as applicable based on the notifications that should be received; email or web notification types can be selected as desired. By default, both notification types are enabled for all users for the New Items Are Added to my Queue notification.
    2. When all notification settings edits have been made, click Save Notification Settings to implement the settings. 
Was this article helpful?