Hide teams in sharing options

Hello, I have created several teams to organize permissions for contacts, projects and opportunities, but I've found that even if a person is not part of a team, he is still able to see the full list of teams.

This is an undesirable behavior, since permissions should hide non-members from listing them to avoid accidental assignment or just not to expose sensitive data (team name, for instance).

Is there any plan to change this behaviour, or is it working as intended? If so, what is the reason for non-members to be able to see all teams (including admins ones)?

Thank you 

0

Comments

5 comments
  • Hi Javier, 

    I think I understand what you are saying, even though you have the ability to assign permissions by team (there is a great article on user permissions here in case that helps) you don't want those TEAMS visible to everyone. You can change the default visibility under user settings:

     

    But I'm still not sure that will accomplish what you want. You may need to add this as a feature request and if it receives enough votes, that functionality could be implemented. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Amanda, that would be correct.

    If I have 2 sales teams, I do not want people from Team 1 being able to assign items to Team 2. They should not even see the name of Team 2 (in case it is sensitive).

    Where can I make that feature request?

    Cheers

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I believe you can limit access for ASSIGNING tasks, according to the article on user permissions, a Non-administrator "Cannot make system settings changes and can only view and edit records that they have permission to see."

    You can add the request here https://support.insight.ly/hc/en-us/community/topics/200181344-Feature-Requests and other users will vote on the issue. I hope this helps!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Amanda,

    Unfortunately it doesn't work like that.

    Again, with the 2 sales teams example, a member of the Team 1 could create an opportunity, and when setting its visibility permissions, that person could (by mistake) share the opportunity (along with the data associated to it) with Team 2 (because Team 2 is visible in the sharing options list), and the opportunity/data would remain visible until said person notice it and fix the assignment.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thanks for jumping in Amanda :)

    Hello Javier: It looks like you're looking for Role Based Permissions. We don't have this available but it is in the works. Following this thread Additional Permission Level- Editable By will keep you up to date on this particular Feature Request.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.