If you find a duplicate contact or organization in your CRM, you could delete it by using the Delete option in the Actions menu. But if it contains information that's not in your original record, you can also merge it into the correct record.
Merging a duplicate record (the source) into another record (the master) will:
- Merge the text from each record's Background field.
- Populate empty Insightly default fields in the master with values from the source.
- Retain all other values in the master record, including empty custom fields.
- Delete the source record and move it into the Recycle Bin.
It's important to keep these points in mind when selecting which record to merge from.
These steps for merging two organizations are the same for merging two contacts.
- Open the duplicate record (the source). Remember, the record you are viewing is the one that will be merged and deleted.
- Click the Actions button and select Merge into an Organization from the menu.
- Begin typing the name of the organization that you would like to merge this record into. Matches will begin appearing as you type.
- Click the radio button next to the name of your target organization.
- Click the Merge These Organizations button to complete the merge.
- The target record will now appear with merged information, and a confirmation message will appear at the top of the page.