How to delete a role or profile from Advanced Permissions

This article is part of the Security & Permissions Guide

You may want to delete a role or profile from your Advanced Permissions if it's no longer in use. These deletions are permanent.

You can't delete a role or profile if users are assigned to it, so you'll need to unassign users before deleting it. With roles, you also won't be able to unassign all users if the role is part of a sharing rule, so you'll first need to remove a role from its sharing rules before removing the last user.

To delete a role or profile:

  1. Go to System Settings > Permissions.
  2. Click Roles or Profiles.
  3. Scroll down to the role or profile you'd like to remove. If the Delete link is gray, you'll first need to click Assign and remove all users from the role or profile before it can be deleted.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click OK in the confirmation dialog to confirm the deletion.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Top