How to switch between Simple and Advanced Permissions

This article is part of the Security & Permissions Guide

Once you understand the differences between Simple and Advanced Permissions and decide you want to switch, you can plan your configuration and set up your profiles, roles, and sharing rules by switching to Advanced Permissions.

You can also switch back to Simple Permissions at any time. Any changes you make to either permissions set will be saved, so it's easy to switch back and forth if you need to.

You might not want to switch permissions in the middle of the workday.

When you switch to Advanced Permissions, your users will be immediately blocked from viewing any records that they do not own. You'll need to configure profiles, roles, organization-wide sharing, and sharing rules to give them access, which could take some time. Another option is to temporarily change organization-wide sharing to Public for all record types, but this will expose all records to all your users.

To change between Simple Permissions and Advanced Permissions:

  1. Go to System Settings > Permissions.
  2. Click the Insightly Permissions Systems dropdown and select the system you would like to use.
  3. Click Save Permissions System.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Top